Soap operas rot the brain

I don’t watch soap operas on TV. Blech. I stop watching TV shows that were once halfway decent dramas when they become too much like soap operas. House is an example. I mean, really, does every female doctor have to sleep with a collegue? Sounds like the writers are channeling their own fantasies. And to give her Huntington’s to boot. Well. I mean.

Um, no, this isn’t a rant about a TV show. It’s a recommittment to write after having stopped for some time. The commitment is to me, to push myself to think cogently about what I’m doing with my life, so that I don’t sleep through it.

Professionally, I have been sleepwalking, but not personally. I am tutoring four kids each week, all whom I’m very fond. It’s intense, but learn and grow from the experience. I learn practical things, too. I’m reading The Inheritors by William Golding, and have had to restart several times partly because I couldn’t keep the characters straight. So I made a bubble map, which I learned about from the kids. I use bubble maps often when I’m stuck with some piece of writing. I learned last week about Stem and Leaf plots, which look like a very useful way to present data. Much more useful than histograms, as the link illustrates. You may laugh, but, I don’t mind in the least learning something from a 5th grader.

I have been involved in other things that wouldn’t impress most people who are the slightest bit social, but they are, for me, quite extroverted. Life is…good. Hard, sad, funny, the usual trite expressions of emotional complexity. Or, as my brother annoyingly says: it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

